Home | Fixtures & Results | Averages | Pictures | About | Links | Contact

July 16, 2023 Friendly vs Oakfield Parkonians Won by 8 wickets

Full scorecard | averages | back to fixtures  

They beat Oakfield Parkonians
Park raiders: (Standing L-R) Talal Ali, Waseem Furqan & Daughter, Azaz Khalil, Umair Shahzad, Jakaria Ahmed, Steve Hamilton, Sami Naqvi, Imran Mohammed; (not shown: Jay Rahman, Ovais Ilyas, Tanzim Chowdhury)


Played at Fairlop
Report by Steve Hamilton

The soundtrack for this match was James Brown’s revenge R&B classic “The Payback” after our 97-run defeat last season against local rivals Oakfield Parkonians.

We had the great man's words in our ears - "I'm mad, I want revenge" - and we were on natural high after our 159-run victory the previous week. Our batters arrived well in their groove.

Parkonian captain Vijay Vijayanathan put us in to field after winning the toss. Waseem Furqan and Talal Ali opened the bowling. Talal, our leading wicket-taker for 2022, was back for a special one-off appearance since moving to Walsall.

Waseem, this summer’s leading wicket-taker by a mile (21), bowled with his usual controlled aggression and pace. Sadly, he was unsuccessful in the wicket column this time, but still finished with impressive figures of 7-4-15-0.

Jay Rahman got the first breakthrough, finding the outside edge of opening batsman Shahid Khan. Keeper Jakaria had no problem taking the catch.

Next over, Talal was rewarded with a wicket, clean-bowling Santron Thivaharan for 23. At the halfway stage of their innings Oakfield Parkonians were 82-2 from 17 overs.

Partners-in-crime Imran and Sami combined to remove the dangerous Krishen Dilipkumar for 36. With only his third ball Imran tempted Dilipkumar to play a reckless shot, hitting the ball straight to mid-off where Sami took the catch effortlessly.

Parkonian batter Venkata Jinka played superbly and dominated our bowling before he was eventually removed by a delivery from Jay for 113.

Umair and debutant Tanzim Chowdhury both took a wicket each towards the end of the innings. The home side finished with a respectable 230-6 (35 overs).

In our reply, openers Jakaria and Waseem wasted no time and reached 111 off 10 overs before Jakeria was caught at deep mid-wicket by Desai for an entertaining 41, including two sixes and four fours.

Azaz joined in the demolition of the Parkonian bowlers and showed no mercy! Azaz retired unbeaten on 50 after a faultless display of masterful stroke-hitting, which included seven fours.

Waseem continued his good form with another consecutive century. It was an exhibition of shots. He retired on 100 including four sixes and eleven fours.

Ovais Ilyas and Tanzim Chowdhury took us home and finished respectively on 18 and 15 not out.

It was comprehensive victory by 8 wickets and 9.3 overs to spare!

The soul legend had called for a "big payback" and we delivered!



Oakfield Parkonians 230-6 (35 overs)
Shahid Khan        ct Ahmed  b Rahman    11
Santron Thivaharan           b Talal Ali 23
Krishen Dilipkumar ct Naqvi  b Mohammed  36
Venkata Jinka      ct Ahmed  b Rahman   113
Mahesh Patel       ct Shahzad b Chowdhury 1
Terry Ranjith                 b Shahzad   6
Vijay Vijayanathan not out 4
Aryan Desai        not out 5
Extras (b 12, w 17, nb 2)                31
Total                                   230

Waseem Furqan    7-4-15-0
Talal Ali        7-0-42-1
Imran Mohammed   4-0-37-1
Sami Naqvi       5-1-28-0
Jay Rahman       6-0-42-2
Tanzim Chowdhury 3-0-26-1
Umair Shahzad    2-0-12-1
Ovais Ilyas      1-0-7-0

Old Fallopians 236-2 (25.3 overs)
Jakaria Ahmed    ct Desai b Dilipkumar 41
Waseem Furqan    not out (retired)    100
Azaz Kahlil      not out (retired)     50
Umair Shahzad    ct Jinka b Khan        4
Ovais Ilyas      not out               18
Tanzim Chowdhury not out               15
DNB:Imran Mohammed, Sami Naqvi, Jay Rahman, Talal Ali, Steve Hamilton
Extras (b 2, w 6) 8
Total 236

Aryan Desai        3-0-39-0
Vijay Vijayanathan 4-0-37-0
Venkata Jinka      2-0-24-0
Krishen Dilipkumar 2-0-31-1
Shahid Khan        6-0-27-1
Rahul Solanki      2-0-15-0
Rohan Jilka        2-0-19-0
Santron Thivaharan 2-0-17-0
Naveen Gupta       2-0-11-0
Terry Ranjith      0.3-0-10-0

Old Fallopians won by 8 wickets

Back to top of page 

 Home | Fixtures & Results | Averages | Pictures | About  | Links | Contact