Home | Fixtures & Results | Averages | Pictures | About | Links | Contact

July 22, 2020 2nd VIII vs Sylhet Lost by 46 runs
Full scorecard | averages | back to fixtures  
Lost to Sylhet
Opening night runners-up: (L-R) Nikhil Kanyanpur, Philip Barrass, Jack Tuner, Jack Holmes, Tim Castle,
Graham McGee, Ilyas Mansha, Matt Wake                                                                         Photo: Peter Frisby         


Played at Victoria Park, pitch 3
Report by Tim Castle

 - Opening match of much delayed season at Victoria Park, and first of two games on consecutive evenings
 - League debutants Sylhet smashed our deliveries all around and over the vast boundaries of pitch 3
 - Captain Matt Wake shared the bowling around, but unpractised limbs struggled to gain much traction.
 - Good catches by Wake and Jack Holmes from the bowling of Ilyas Mansha and Graham McGee respectively.
 - Excellent stumping by the lightning hands of Jack Turner off Wake's bowling. Wicket also for Holmes.
 - Chasing a challenging total of 184, our reply started briskly.
 - A quickfire 23 from opener Philip Barrass raised early hopes (but injured his knee).
 - Turner held the innings together with an undefeated 53.
 - Despite flourishes from Wake (10) and Holmes (23), we were well behind the rate by the time Graham McGee (10) and league debutant Nikhil Kayanpur (2) reached the crease.
 - With the overs completed, we had fallen to an opening defeat, some 46 runs short.
 - See next match (vs Phoenix) for happier outcome!

Sylhet 183-4 (16 overs)
Aminul Haque Litu    c Matt Wake * b Ilyas Mansha    35
Sumon JB             c Jack Holmes b Graham McGee    32
Zakoan Chowdhury     retired                         50
Jahirul Haque        st Jack Turner b Matt Wake *  17
Jumma Khan           b Jack Holmes                    1
Moinul Haque         not out                         21
Shakil Mahmud        not out                          4
Extras (not recorded)                                23 (?)
Total                                               183
DNB: Ali Sanjid Sami
Jack Holmes      4-0-31-1
Nikhil Kalyanpur 2-0-11-0
Philip Barrass   2-0-30-0
Ilyas Mansha     2-0-13-1 (1st over no analysis recorded)
Tim Castle       2-0-35-0
Graham McGee     2-0-21-1
Matt Wake *      2-0-28-1

Old Fallopians 137-3 (16 overs)
Philip Barrass   c Ali Sanjid Sami b Shakil Mahmud  23
Matt Wake *      b Shakil Mahmud                    10
Jack Turner    retired                            53
Jack Holmes      c Sumon JB b Moinul Haque          23
Graham McGee     not out                            10
Nikhil Kalyanpur not out                             2
Extras (w 8, nb 3, b 1, lb 3)                       15
Total                                              137
DNB: Ilyas Mansha, Tim Castle
FOW: 35-1 Philip Barrass, - Jack Holmes, - Jack Turner *, 39-2 Matt Wake *

Moinul Haque      4-0-31-2
Jumma Khan        4-0-39-0
Shakil Mahmud     4-0-30-1
Ali Sanjid Sami   3-0-31-0
Aminul Haque Litu 1-0-6-0


Back to top of page



Back to top of page

 Home | Fixtures & Results | Averages | Pictures | About  | Links | Contact